Nigeria, Morocco Dominate Nominees as Oshoala Targets Sixth Title 

Nigeria, Morocco Dominate Nominees as Oshoala Targets Sixth Title 

Nigeria’s dominance in African women’s football was prominent yesterday as the Confederation of African Football (CAF), unveiled the names of the players for the coming awards ceremony next month in Morocco. 

Nigeria and Morocco featured  prominently in all categories as CAF unveiled the preliminary nominees for the various women’s categories for the CAF Awards 2023.
Reigning queen, Asisat Oshoala, led a pack of seven Super Falcons in the main category of the awards, ‘African Woman Player of the Year’ and she will go headlong with 29 other nominees and hope for a record-extending best on the continent. 

Other Nigerian players shortlisted include;  Chiamaka Nnadozie, Christy Ucheibe, Osinachi Ohale, Rasheedat Ajibade, Toni Payne and Uchenna Kanu  

Next in the ‘game of numbers’ is Morocco with five nominees. 

A distinguished panel made up of CAF Technical Experts, Legends, and selected media representatives decided on the nominees, taking into consideration their performances at all levels from December 2022 to November 2023. P

Like in the men’s category, the best women’s goalkeeper will be rewarded for the first time to celebrate the heroic efforts of the shot-stoppers. Ten players have been nominated for the first-ever CAF Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year award. 

Ten nominees each have been pencilled for the Interclub Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, National Team of the Year, and Young Player of the Year, limited to players not more than 21 years. 

The finalists of the ongoing CAF Women’s Champions League Cote d’Ivoire 2023 have each been rewarded with a place in the Club of the Year category. 

The winner of each category will be decided after votes from a voting panel consisting of the CAF Technical Committee, media professionals from Member Associations, Head Coaches, and captains of Member Associations and clubs involved in the group stages of the Interclub competitions. 

The Awards Gala is to be graced by the crème de la crème of African football on 11 December 2023 in Marrakech, Morocco. 

Player of the Year (Women) 

1.   Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon) 

2.   Evelyn Badu (Ghana) 

3.   Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi) 

4.   Temwa Chawinga (Malawi) 

5.    Anissa Lahmari (Morocco) 

6.    Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco) 

7.    Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco) 

8.    Ibtissam Jraidi (Morocco) 

9.    Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco) 

10.  Zenatha Coleman (Namibia) 

11.  Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria) 

12.  Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria) 

13.  Christy Ucheibe (Nigeria) 

14.  Osinachi Ohale (Nigeria) 

15.  Rasheedat Ajibade (Nigeria) 

16.  Toni Payne (Nigeria, Sevilla) 

17.  Uchenna Kanu (Nigeria) 

18.  Ndeye Awa Diakhaté (Senegal) 

19.  Andile Dlamini (South Africa) 

20.  Hilda Magaia (South Africa) 

21.  Jermaine Seoposenwe (South Africa) 

22.  Linda Motlhalo (South Africa) 

23.  Refiloe Jane (South Africa) 

24.  Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa) 

25.  Afi Sabine Woedikou (Togo) 

26.  Sabrina Ellouzi (Tunisia) 

27.  Fazila Ikwaput (Uganda) 

28.  Barbara Banda (Zambia) 

29.  Grace Chanda (Zambia) 

30.  Rachael Kundananji (Zambia) 

Related Articles